LOGIN  |  REGISTER
Smart Living Made Brilliant!
CASTLEOS FORUM

HomeBug Reports

A forum topic for reporting bugs and other issues with CastleOS

Issue with Multiple Event Conditions - System Mode Messages in this topic - RSS

Eric F
Eric F
Posts: 49


10/11/2017
Eric F
Eric F
Posts: 49
I have a few events set up with conditions dependent upon the System Mode... The Idea is that these events should only take place when the Mode is set to "Off" or "Home", and not occur when the Mode is set to "Away" or "Vacation".


These events handle the condition fine when there is only 1 listed, i.e.:

Conditions
and System Mode is equal to Off


However when I try to add the second condition, the event never runs, i.e.:

Conditions
and System Mode is equal to Off
or System Mode is equal to Home


On the chance it was set up differently than most If-Then type structures, I also tried it as below, still with the events never running, i.e.:

Conditions
and System Mode is equal to Off
and System Mode is equal to Home




edited by efrese on 10/11/2017
edited by efrese on 10/11/2017
0 link
Eric F
Eric F
Posts: 49


10/11/2017
Eric F
Eric F
Posts: 49
And as a separate unrelated issue, I have setup my Mini-Mote to change the System Status, with a voice verification to play afterwards to state the Mode changed to... When I hit the buttons, the voice message plays indicating I have changed the Mode, however the GUI never seems to update the Mode listed in the upper right hand corner, so I cannot be sure the Mode is actually changing.

But again, this is unrelated to the above issue, as I have run all my tests after manually changing the System Mode through the GUI.
edited by efrese on 10/11/2017
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3368


10/11/2017
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3368
I had just found the display issue myself this week, so I'm working on that. The first issue I'll test tonight and let you know what I find, thanks for the report!!!
0 link
Eric F
Eric F
Posts: 49


10/11/2017
Eric F
Eric F
Posts: 49
Awesome, thanks!
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3368


10/12/2017
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3368
I can confirm an issue with this release where the "or" is being ignored. I'll have this fixed in the next release coming this week. Thanks for catching this!!
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3368


10/12/2017
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3368
Also, this is a good place to clarify the intended behavior:

All
conditions with an "and" must be met in order for the event to run (unless an "or" is defined and met).

Any condition with an "or" will allow the event to be run, ignoring all other "or" and "and" conditions.

If you want to use more advanced logic than this, the proper way in CastleOS is to write a condition script. Though we may add in the future the ability to group (or tie) conditions together, thus allowing a second level of "and" and "or" via the GUI as well.
edited by ccicchitelli on 10/12/2017
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3368


10/12/2017
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3368
So while there is a bug, your config is also slightly off. This:


Conditions
and System Mode is equal to Off
or System Mode is equal to Home


Should be this:


Conditions
or System Mode is equal to Off
or System Mode is equal to Home
0 link
Eric F
Eric F
Posts: 49


10/21/2017
Eric F
Eric F
Posts: 49
Chris Cicchitelli wrote:
I can confirm an issue with this release where the "or" is being ignored. I'll have this fixed in the next release coming this week. Thanks for catching this!!


No problem! is that release the "New Beta Version Available" its notifying me about at the top of my portal, or another release?



Chris Cicchitelli wrote:
So while there is a bug, your config is also slightly off. This:


Conditions
and System Mode is equal to Off
or System Mode is equal to Home


Should be this:


Conditions
or System Mode is equal to Off
or System Mode is equal to Home


ahhh, Thank you for explaining, i better understand your conditions setup now. I have updated my configs accordingly
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3368


10/29/2017
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3368
Yes, the new beta releases are available on the download page now.
0 link
Eric F
Eric F
Posts: 49


11/11/2017
Eric F
Eric F
Posts: 49
Alright, so downloaded 1.3.3301, was the fix supposed to be in this one, or a later release still coming?
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3368


11/15/2017
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3368
That bug fix is coming in the next release this month...
+1 link