LOGIN  |  REGISTER
Smart Living Made Brilliant!
CASTLEOS FORUM

HomeCastleOS API

Information, FAQs, Q&As, and everything else related to the CastleOS API can be found here

API Messages in this topic - RSS

Phil Hawthorne
Phil Hawthorne

4/2/2015
Phil Hawthorne
Phil Hawthorne
I'm looking forward to getting on board the CastleOS, and losing my bank balance to the home automation addiction.

As a web developer, I work a lot with REST API's, which run over HTTP.

I would really like to be able to extend the features of CastleOS with a REST API if possible. I haven't downloaded CastleOS yet to play with, but ideally I'd like to know:

1. Can CastleOS call external HTTP API's, or be taught how to? I'll take a look at the scripting tools available, but I've never created something in C. Some ideas that could be used include the "fluffy" ones like "post a tweet" or read Facebook status. But with HTTP API's there's a lot that can be done.
2. Can CastleOS be manipulated by a HTTP API? For example. a local webserver calling CastleOS via HTTP to turn on lights or the TV?

The only slight mention I found was in a previous topic, but it hasn't had much activity: http://www.castleos.com/forum/topic13-open-api.aspx
0 link
Phil Hawthorne
Phil Hawthorne

4/9/2015
Phil Hawthorne
Phil Hawthorne
Chris Cicchitelli wrote:
Hey Phil, the WCF API has been there since the beginning, the REST API was added a few months ago to support our Android App development. Both are available in the version you have downloaded. To discover the services, you can use any web service explorer and point it to CastleOS on your machine: http://localhost/CastleOS/service?wsdl You can also put that address in your web browser to see the raw XML if you'd like.

Perfect thanks! I'll give that a go. Is there a /help endpoint or anything I can use to see the annotations?

Chris Cicchitelli wrote: