LOGIN  |  REGISTER
Smart Living Made Brilliant!
CASTLEOS FORUM

HomeScripting

A forum for information about scripting with CastleOS. Get samples, suggestions, and other help here

Basic Installation with Insteon Messages in this topic - RSS

T- Brad
T- Brad
Posts: 41


5/13/2015
T- Brad
T- Brad
Posts: 41
I haven’t purchased the CastleOS yet, I’m trying to gather info to make a well thought out plan which includes ALL the necessary hardware and installation steps and then execute the plan over a weekend.

So far it’s taken me weeks just to understand what should take about 15 minutes of research. There does not seem to be any user guides for the most basic setup of say 1 Insteon dimmer. In adding to my Insteon system while trying to acquire this info from the forum, I was told by SmartHome (Located down the street from me) that I must add their PowerLinc Modem - INSTEON 2413S Serial Interface (Dual-Band) for $79.99. So here I am again asking if this is a necessity or not?

Is it just me, or shouldn’t there be a better system other than posting what should be the most basic questions that should be documented in a manual? Does the elusive manual exist?

Am I heading for heartbreak seeing that I don’t have the knowledge or understanding of the most basic needs for building a compatible system with Castle OS. Heck, installing Insteon is a cinch. Why, they provide instructions, even with pictures. Sorry for the sarcasm.

Here’s a briefs summary of my unanswered questions, eliminating me from moving forward:
  • - USB ports – How do I know if they’re on different buses?
  • - Insteon Hub. Do I need it to run CastleOS?
  • - If I need keep my Insteon hub seeing that I have 2, which one ifs preferred 2012 or 2014 and why? Or is there something better?
  • - Do I need to add the Insteon power link modem?
  • - I have now a dedicated PC, Kinect Vers 2, Kinect to PC adapter, SDK update installed, 6 Insteon dimmers, 2 Insteon ON/Off Switches, 2 Insteon hubs (Only 2012 being utilized), and an Insteon Thermostat. WHAT ELSE DO I REQUIRE TO RUN CASTLEOS?
  • - Referencing the above question, are there any other things I can add that will improve the performance or my experience with CastleOS.

edited by AVGeek on 5/13/2015
edited by AVGeek on 5/13/2015
0 link
Griffe Youngleson
Griffe Youngleson
Posts: 16


5/13/2015
Hopefully we can get some feedback here but it seems you have everything. I believe you can either use an Insteon HUB or PowerLinc modem. I've just started on the journey and I agree the documentation could be better. E.g. I just read a post by Chris saying Lutron works better than Insteon (less interference) however Luton isn't even listed on the "Compatible Devices" list.
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3390


6/7/2015
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3390
I'm sorry for the confusion, you do NOT need a separate USB or serial PLM if you already have either of those INSTEON hubs. The 2014 version is better as it's dual band, but they both work.

We have a full setup guide for INSTEON here: http://www.castleos.com/forum/topic290-how-to-set-up-automation-protocols.aspx#post1879

Other than that, I think you have everything you need!
+1 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3390


6/7/2015
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3390
Griffe Youngleson wrote:
Hopefully we can get some feedback here but it seems you have everything. I believe you can either use an Insteon HUB or PowerLinc modem. I've just started on the journey and I agree the documentation could be better. E.g. I just read a post by Chris saying Lutron works better than Insteon (less interference) however Luton isn't even listed on the "Compatible Devices" list.



Lutron support is coming after we finish the new API (which it will plug into). Should be sometime in June.
0 link
T- Brad
T- Brad
Posts: 41


6/9/2015
T- Brad
T- Brad
Posts: 41
Chris Cicchitelli wrote:
I'm sorry for the confusion, you do NOT need a separate USB or serial PLM if you already have either of those INSTEON hubs. The 2014 version is better as it's dual band, but they both work.

We have a full setup guide for INSTEON here: http://www.castleos.com/forum/topic290-how-to-set-up-automation-protocols.aspx#post1879

Other than that, I think you have everything you need!



You mention in this post the 2014 Insteon hub is better, but in another post you mentioned the 2014 hub is not supported by CaslteOS. If I recall correctly you mentioned it was not supported currently due to be Cloud based.
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3390


6/9/2015
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3390
T- Brad wrote:
Chris Cicchitelli wrote:
I'm sorry for the confusion, you do NOT need a separate USB or serial PLM if you already have either of those INSTEON hubs. The 2014 version is better as it's dual band, but they both work.

We have a full setup guide for INSTEON here: http://www.castleos.com/forum/topic290-how-to-set-up-automation-protocols.aspx#post1879

Other than that, I think you have everything you need!



You mention in this post the 2014 Insteon hub is better, but in another post you mentioned the 2014 hub is not supported by CaslteOS. If I recall correctly you mentioned it was not supported currently due to be Cloud based.



Sorry, to be clear, there are three hub types. The first gen single band PLM-based hub (supported), the second gen dual band PLM-based hub (supported), and the new third gen cloud-based hubs (not supported yet). The actual models cross year boundaries, so we should probably stop referring to them that way...
0 link
T- Brad
T- Brad
Posts: 41


6/9/2015
T- Brad
T- Brad
Posts: 41
Chris Cicchitelli wrote:
T- Brad wrote:
Chris Cicchitelli wrote:
I'm sorry for the confusion, you do NOT need a separate USB or serial PLM if you already have either of those INSTEON hubs. The 2014 version is better as it's dual band, but they both work.

We have a full setup guide for INSTEON here: http://www.castleos.com/forum/topic290-how-to-set-up-automation-protocols.aspx#post1879

Other than that, I think you have everything you need!



You mention in this post the 2014 Insteon hub is better, but in another post you mentioned the 2014 hub is not supported by CaslteOS. If I recall correctly you mentioned it was not supported currently due to be Cloud based.



Sorry, to be clear, there are three hub types. The first gen single band PLM-based hub (supported), the second gen dual band PLM-based hub (supported), and the new third gen cloud-based hubs (not supported yet). The actual models cross year boundaries, so we should probably stop referring to them that way...

Below are the model #'s for easy referencing in the future:
Insteon Hub (2014) - Model # 2245-222.
Insteon Hub (2012) Rev 2 – Model #2242-222
Insteon Hub (2012) Rev 1 – Model #2242-222
+1 link
JOHN VALENCIA
JOHN VALENCIA
Posts: 7


8/12/2015
JOHN VALENCIA
JOHN VALENCIA
Posts: 7
so is the cloud base unit supported yet #2245-222?
+1 link