LOGIN  |  REGISTER
Smart Living Made Brilliant!
CASTLEOS FORUM

HomeBug Reports

A forum topic for reporting bugs and other issues with CastleOS

Scenes: Learning a scene with Hue not working Messages in this topic - RSS

Phil Hawthorne
Phil Hawthorne
Posts: 400


1/22/2016
Phil Hawthorne
Phil Hawthorne
Posts: 400
I've setup my Hue lights how I want. They are all on and ready to go.

I add a scene, and click "learn scene". Nothing happens
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3390


1/22/2016
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3390
I just ran a test with Hue and the Learn Scene feature is working normally in our test. Can you provide more details?
0 link
Tommy Long
Tommy Long
Posts: 218


1/22/2016
Tommy Long
Tommy Long
Posts: 218
I just tried it with one Hue bulb and Learn Scene worked; ditto with 2 bulbs.
1) When editing a scene and done there is a "Save" button. When creating a scene and done there is a "Add Scene"; suggest "Save" instead
2) However in the process I noticed another bug. In Devices Menu my Hue Bulbs are all listed and have the On/Off slider but no color wheel (those that are off). Once I turn one ON, still no Wheel but I go to another Menu and come back and the color wheel shows up (for the ones that are ON but again no wheel for those that are OFF). Once the Hue light gets turned off, goto another menu and come back the wheel disappears.
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3390


1/22/2016
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3390
Hey Tommy, the color wheel is there, but black. If you tap where it's supposed to be, it will pop up. We're going to make that appear gray instead of black in the next release.
0 link
Phil Hawthorne
Phil Hawthorne
Posts: 400


1/22/2016
Phil Hawthorne
Phil Hawthorne
Posts: 400
Just re-tested and Learn scene still not working for me.

See video of bug here: http://screencast.com/t/Rb3nCmwlP

This happens on PC and on the Android app for me.
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3390


1/22/2016
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3390
You need to select the devices you want in the scene, otherwise it wouldn't know what devices to learn the state of smile
0 link
Phil Hawthorne
Phil Hawthorne
Posts: 400


1/22/2016
Phil Hawthorne
Phil Hawthorne
Posts: 400
Hahaha I see now

Might be a good idea to show an error to the user if no devices are in the scene, and the Learn button is clicked. Might stop someone else making the same mistake I did wink
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3390


1/22/2016
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3390
Yes, although in fairness it is in the text that pops up smile
0 link
Phil Hawthorne
Phil Hawthorne
Posts: 400


1/22/2016
Phil Hawthorne
Phil Hawthorne
Posts: 400
Indeed. However, this is a good case-in-point. A dialog with a whole bunch of text will most likely not get read 99% of time.

For good UI/UX, I'd consider scrapping most of the text in that dialog, as humans only have a short amount of attention span.
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3390


1/22/2016
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3390
I went ahead an added an error message if you attempt to learn with no devices. Thanks for the suggestion!
0 link
Phil Hawthorne
Phil Hawthorne
Posts: 400


1/22/2016
Phil Hawthorne
Phil Hawthorne
Posts: 400
Perfect!
0 link