LOGIN  |  REGISTER
Smart Living Made Brilliant!
CASTLEOS FORUM

HomeBetas

Report bugs and issues related to beta testing here, so as to not confuse those with stable releases.

System completely dead nothing is helping at all!! Messages in this topic - RSS

Kevin Mathews
Kevin Mathews
Posts: 126


11/15/2016
Kevin Mathews
Kevin Mathews
Posts: 126
upset
Found version 1.3.3081 was getting sluggish and devices were not responding or completing schedules properly. Checked Task Manager - which took over two minutes to open due to slow mouse performance and window not opening in a timely manner, found COS core running at 50-85% CPU and at 99.9% of memory! Stuck solidly there and at the top of the list when sorted by such.
Tried rebooting, then found Windows update had an update to finish, I allowed that to occur, then COS would not start in Android nor locally on Hub.
Tried to update to 1.3.3110, but the update failed because it could not shut down the core service.
Tried to manually stop the service and was disallowed.
Set the service to Manual start, rebooted the hub and installed 3110
COS still not loading in android nor Hub.
Rebooted again, NADA!
reinstalled Kinect service (same version as last one) even though I don't use any Kinect devices, - NO JOY
Repair install core service, - ZIP, ZERO, NADA!
Error file is blank except for the initial lines of XML version and encoding...
THEN......
I looked at the Configuration file... It is BLANK in the browser as an XML file, blank in Notepad, the two backups are blank too!!
Interesting thing is, that the properties of them all show the file size to be 19.2 Kb! (An older config file (from 5-2016) in my OneDrive folder shows 18.7Kb)
Can I just delete and copy the cloud copy or will version differences cause problems? Whaaaaa?
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366


11/15/2016
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366
Looks like they were corrupted mid save, probably during the windows update. Just wipe the main configuration.xml file out and put in your cloud backup with the service stopped, then start it, and it should be back up and running...
0 link
Kevin Mathews
Kevin Mathews
Posts: 126


11/15/2016
Kevin Mathews
Kevin Mathews
Posts: 126
Interesting that they show similar file size...
0 link
Kevin Mathews
Kevin Mathews
Posts: 126


11/15/2016
Kevin Mathews
Kevin Mathews
Posts: 126
Cannot stop the service, will have to set to manual, re-boot, then restore the config files..., reset service to automatic, and reboot again!
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366


11/15/2016
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366
Just use task manager to end the service, no need for a reboot...
0 link
Kevin Mathews
Kevin Mathews
Posts: 126


11/15/2016
Kevin Mathews
Kevin Mathews
Posts: 126
Seems to have restored it...
On an aside, do we have any access to Insteon ramp rates, etc. yet? Soon, maybe?
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366


11/15/2016
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366
Soon smile I've been working on that along with the mutli-channel (keypads) most recently.
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366


11/15/2016
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366
Btw, the new beta you installed has a fix for the CPU issue that started this thread.
0 link
Kevin Mathews
Kevin Mathews
Posts: 126


11/15/2016
Kevin Mathews
Kevin Mathews
Posts: 126
Awesome! I was growing tired of that! Especially since my configuration didn't fit the suspect profiles...
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366


11/15/2016
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366
Suspect profiles?
0 link
Kevin Mathews
Kevin Mathews
Posts: 126


11/24/2016
Kevin Mathews
Kevin Mathews
Posts: 126
OK, so now there's a different issue, but the same...
The new beta definitely seems to have solved the CPU hang in the Core Service, but now I find that task manager is showing the Kinect service is hogging resources! What's worse is that I don't even USE any Kinect devices nor the service (obviously).
I did read in another post that the two need to coexist as the latest releases respectively, so I did download the latest Kinect files from the Google Drive folder and installed it, but here we are... 99% CPU 70% memory mostly to the Kinect service.

I'm not too worried at this point, just going to enjoy my Thanksgiving, and hope you do too!

A hearty "God bless you!" goes out to all my "COSins" out there! LOL!
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366


11/24/2016
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366
Happy Thanksgiving Kevin! Stay tuned for the Thanksgiving day release smile

Regarding the Kinect service, if you don't use it you can always disable the service. I probably need to do make another build to sync it up again, which I'll do tonight.

Thanks!

-Chris
0 link
Kevin Mathews
Kevin Mathews
Posts: 126


11/24/2016
Kevin Mathews
Kevin Mathews
Posts: 126
Instant follow-up...

After disabling the Kinect service and re-checking task manager, I now find the CPU looks GREAT... but the memory is being sucked up by "antimalware service executable" Idling with nothing open at 46% memory usage.
0 link
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366


11/24/2016
Chris Cicchitelli
Chris Cicchitelli
Administrator
Posts: 3366
That's Windows' built in security. It will go away after it's done scanning.
edited by ccicchitelli on 11/24/2016
0 link